Houston Quilt Festival

Standard

It’s 10 p.m. and I just finished sewing the binding down on a quilt. There is nothing unusal that… except I’m in a hotel room in Houston, Texas.

Today was the last day of Quilt Market in Houston. All the vendors, manufacters, and designers are packing up and disappearing into the night.

Three days of beauty and function filled the convention floor. We were inspired by coming trends in color and textures of fabric. A return of ‘Minkee’ like fabric is available in great colors and embossed textures. They are stunning. The browns and animal prints were quite elegant. Lots of pastels too.

We saw a lot of pastels of lavender and chartreuse was noticable. Earth tones are still popular and very nice. And yet we did see some deep saturated colors. Something for everyone. Watch for Windham’s ‘Flannel Rose’ and Baby collection. Hoffman’s Batiks are always to die for.

The Warm and Natural folks are importing a fabric group from the U.K. The group has several collections ranging from oversize flowers, Asian inspired, and Picotage dots. I bought the Picotage in black, rusty red (the new red trend), and tan.

Now, why was I binding q quilt in a hotel room in Houston, because I am going to be a vendor of my pattern line at the Festival. I need the quilt as a sample of a pattern.

More about Festival later.

About cpgdesigns

I have over 35 years of quilting, teaching and sewing experience. I applied these skills to produce quilt patterns to encourge new quilters to express their creativity and technique with confidence. Experienced quilters will appreciate the quick, easy but versatile patterns. I hope you enjoy my view of the quilting world.

Leave a Reply

