White Glove Opportunities

Standard

A week has gone by since Mid-Atlantic Quilt show. I’m now settling into my daily routine. But before any more time goes by let me tell you about a memory I have from this year’s show. The Mid-Atlantic quilt show has been an annual show for many years and I often attend and recognize faces that I see each year. Some I may have taken a class with but most I just pass in the aisles each year.

The quilts on display are always wonderful and this year no expectation. I did white glove duty on Friday’s last shift of the day. I was given the completion aisle of innovative and traditional quilts.  Half way thru the shift a lady and her friend stopped at a quilt and the friend started taking pictures of the woman. It was obvious that she was the maker of the quilt. Upon seeing me approach she remarked that she was indeed the maker and would not have touched the quilt otherwise.

She then started explaining the meaning and methods used to make the quilt. The quilt is titled ‘de Los Muertos Celebration’ by Nancy Christopherson. She was informative and interesting about her quilt. The conservation ended and the small crowd that had gathered disbursed.

Some minutes later another woman was having her picture taken by her quilt. The maker is from Australia that was all I heard about her.

A few minutes later another woman and a couple of friends came to visit her quilt. I believe the title was ‘Cameron’s Dream’ but most people were referring to it as the ‘VT’ quilt.’ VT’ is for Virginia Tech.  She had used the official fabric and duplicated the ‘VT’ logo; with permission she stressed that  point. She created a lap size quilt that any entering college student would love. After her group wandered away I checked my watch and realized nearly an hour had passed.

White glove duty can offer interesting opportunities.

About cpgdesigns

I have over 35 years of quilting, teaching and sewing experience. I applied these skills to produce quilt patterns to encourge new quilters to express their creativity and technique with confidence. Experienced quilters will appreciate the quick, easy but versatile patterns. I hope you enjoy my view of the quilting world.

Leave a Reply

