Turkish Needlework

Standard

turkish dollOya scarf

Last week I gave a lecture to a local quilt guild. I hadn’t given this particular talk in several years so I was glad I still had my notes, along with my props- needlework, scarves and rugs.

The lecture was on the needlework of Turkey. Some 20 years ago my husband had an assigment there and the family went with him. It was the most eventful and character building assignment we ever had during his military career. We arrived 10 days before the invasion of Kuwait and as a result we had to be vigilant of our surroundings at all times.  The events brought the people of every culture together- American, British, Italians, and Turkish in a bond created by hardship.

Due to this bond we all shared our cultures a little more deeply than we might have otherwise have done. The needlework of the Trukish culture is ancient and beautiful. I am forturnate to have learned and collected bits and samples of them. They are samples treasure for my memories – good and difficut.

The focus of my lecture is on Oya. Oya is the crochet trim on the edges of scarves. It conveys a woman’s thoughts and emotions thru the language of the oya. Each design of trim- be it flowers, beads, or ‘grass’ crochet sends a message. Chili peppers oya might be saying my marriage was unhappy from the start.

 

About cpgdesigns

I have over 35 years of quilting, teaching and sewing experience. I applied these skills to produce quilt patterns to encourge new quilters to express their creativity and technique with confidence. Experienced quilters will appreciate the quick, easy but versatile patterns. I hope you enjoy my view of the quilting world.

Leave a Reply

