Rejection – deal with it.

Standard

A few weeks ago I offered a quilted wall hanging to a request for art work. The request was made by a company that gathers artwork for corporate buildings. This particular corporation building had specific parameters which I felt my wall hanging met. I completed the online form including a jpeg photo.  I knew that there would be hundreds of applicants as the artwork request included all types of art not just textiles. It was a request limited to the regional area in which I live and not a national request.

Last week I received notice that my wall hanging was not chosen. Not a surprise, truly. What was a surprise was the depth of my disappointment. I knew my chances were slim but the work is technically good and artistically pleasing. It would be a good display in the office surroundings.

I suppose I hoped that the wall hanging would be seen in the same manner that I saw it. Creativity is a passion and I need to remember that everyone‘s perception can be different. That’s okay. It brings more beauty and knowledge into the world.  My mana right now is…there will be other opportunities.GoinsCJ_Seasons_Fiber Arts_30 X 30_half inch_1 lb_175.

About cpgdesigns

I have over 35 years of quilting, teaching and sewing experience. I applied these skills to produce quilt patterns to encourge new quilters to express their creativity and technique with confidence. Experienced quilters will appreciate the quick, easy but versatile patterns. I hope you enjoy my view of the quilting world.

Leave a Reply

