Uncle turns 100!

Standard

Sunday, October 16, was my Uncle’s 100th birthday. People came from all across the country to his birthday party.  Some traveled from the east coast (as I did), the Midwest, down the west coast and up and throughout the state of California. The number of family members in attendance was approximating 130.

Family members from my side (my aunt was one of 4 sisters) and of my uncle (he was the youngest of 5) attended. Some members had heard of each other through old stories but never met or met only once. One of his niece’s went to the 6th grade with my mother. I never knew that.  The number of grandchildren and great grandniece and nephews was staggering. Honestly, anyone under the age of 50, I did not know.

The local news station interviewed him and of course asked what his secret to long life was. He stated “clean living”. There was lots of laughter among the family; he then pleaded the 5th to that question.

A surprise guest arrived; it was the old race car that he and his brother owned in the late 1940’s and early 1950’s. They owned and sponsored it in the early days of car racing. The car is now owned by ‘Red Roaster’ vintage race cars. The current owners were gracious to bring it for all to see. They had just raced it the night before in the area. It was wonderful to see him run his hands lovingly along the car and talk about the ‘Wayne engine’. We thank our cousin Harold for locating and arranging the car’s attendance.

Happy 100th Birthday, Uncle Cloyd.

About cpgdesigns

I have over 35 years of quilting, teaching and sewing experience. I applied these skills to produce quilt patterns to encourge new quilters to express their creativity and technique with confidence. Experienced quilters will appreciate the quick, easy but versatile patterns. I hope you enjoy my view of the quilting world.

Leave a Reply

